IS-8.A: Questions and Answers

The FEMA IS-8.A course “Building for the Earthquakes of Tomorrow,” is an educational program designed to provide individuals, particularly those in state and local governments, as well as the building and financial industries, with essential information about the requirements of Executive Order 12699 and how to implement it. The course aims to impart basic knowledge about earthquakes and how buildings can be constructed to be safe during such events. It focuses on understanding and preparing for the implementation of Executive Order 12699 and its consequences on the built environment.

» Jump to the IS-8.A Questions and Answers right away!

Objectives of the FEMA IS-8.A Course

  1. Describe the Intent and Implications of Executive Order 12699: The course enables students to understand the purpose of the Executive Order, the consequences of noncompliance, and how it affects the built environment.
  2. Theory and Practice of Executive Order 12699 and Hazard Mitigation: Participants learn about the rationale for including seismic provisions in building codes and the broader concept of hazard mitigation.
  3. Compare Standards and Local Codes: The course guides students to analyze and compare the standards set by the Executive Order with local codes, identifying substantive differences and deficiencies.
  4. Develop Compliance Plans: It equips learners with the knowledge to develop action plans for achieving compliance with the Executive Order, particularly if local codes do not meet its standards.

How is the FEMA IS-8.A Structured?

The IS-8.A course is divided into the following five units:

  • Course Introduction: The introductory unit presents the history of earthquakes in the United States and sets the context for the course.
  • Executive Order 12699: This unit delves into the specifics of the Executive Order, its requirements, and implementation details.
  • Earthquake Causes and Characteristics: The course provides an understanding of the natural phenomena of earthquakes, their causes, and characteristics.
  • Assessments and Final Exam: To ensure comprehension, each unit ends with a review, and there’s a final exam to evaluate the participants’ grasp of the course material.
  • Certificate: Successful completion of the course awards a certificate, recognizing the participant’s understanding and readiness to apply the concepts learned.

What are common FEMA IS-8.A Test Questions?

We have collected and answered the 31 most common FEMA IS-8.A test questions people ask online:

  1. Seismic waves generally travel much shorter distances on the West Coast than on the East Coast because:
  2. The NEHRP Provisions addressed effective methods of seismic design and construction of:
  3. If the region in which you live has not experienced an earthquake in 200 years, your earthquake hazard is low.
  4. Which term refers to powerful ocean waves caused by an earthquake, landslide, or volcanic eruption on the seafloor?
  5. When a building and the ground vibrate at the same rate, they resonate, and the vibrations _____.
  6. Partitions, ceilings, and exterior walls can _____ a building’s vibration.
  7. Which of the following is not a horizontal bracing system?
  8. Earthquake activity can be caused by _____ movement of plates.
  9. A fault is a fracture in the earth’s outer shell, on either side of which rock mass moves _____.
  10. A tall building has a longer natural period than a short one.
  11. The ideal characteristics for building materials in seismically active areas are ductility and stiffness.
  12. Which of the following activities may be considered mitigation?
  13. The Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale measures the _____ of an earthquake.
  14. The Richter Scale measures the _____ of an earthquake.
  15. Temporary as well as permanent structures built following a disaster using Federal funds through the Stafford Act must meet the requirements of Executive Order 12699.
  16. A building constructed according to the NEHRP Provisions may sustain enough damage during an earthquake that it must be demolished.
  17. Liquefaction occurs when:
  18. All Federal agencies have the same seismic safety standards.
  19. The owner of a new office building, currently under construction, is going to lease 20 percent of the building’s space to the Federal Government and is therefore subject to the requirements of Executive Order 12699.
  20. Two of the objectives of NEHRP were to educate the public about earthquake risk reduction and increase the use of existing scientific and engineering knowledge to mitigate earthquake hazards.
  21. The Provisions consider a building’s seismicity and its Seismic Use Group and assign it to a _____ in order to define its seismic safety requirements.
  22. What is the clearest indication that your community is seismically safe?
  23. Scientists use _____ waves to find an earthquake’s epicenter.
  24. _____ waves cause most of the damage to the built environment during an earthquake.
  25. A community that is likely to incur a great deal of damage during an earthquake is referred to as having a high seismic _____.
  26. NEHRP was created as a result of:
  27. In order to make the construction of seismically safe buildings economically possible, the ICSSC drafted Executive Order 12699 to mandate that a building should be designed to prevent:
  28. Buildings are assigned to Seismic Use Groups on the basis of _____.
  29. All faults will cause earthquakes.